Record cabinet transformed

I am tired of particle board furniture from the store – so I have been scoping garage sales like the best of them. One fine Saturday morning in April I went wandering around my neighborhood to see what people were selling.  I found this awesome little cabinet but the lady went on and on about how it was from Brazil and special and she wanted $30 – and if there is anything to know about me it is that I AM CHEAP! Then the best thing happen… I was driving and saw  this random garage sale that wasn’t listed anywhere and had no signs – I of course stopped because she had furniture, asked in very broken Spanish how much for this record cabinet and she says “cinco” – I said “load it up”.  YAY!!!! I am tickled pink and then the imagination started running.

So I forgot to take an initial picture but stopped demolition early on to snap a pic.

Image

Image

I took a 8lb sledge hammer and started busting out the bottom slots to make room for pans and then it dawned on me…the top can organize my lids. Brilliance!

Image

After I finished busting out the bottom slots (which was a lot harder than I initially thought it would be) I put contact paper on the bottom that I purchased for $5 at Target.

Image

After I was done, I decided to paint the inside a matching green that I had on hand from Drey’s nursery.  I am not the best painter nor was I the kid that colored in the lines – probably why I am good at abstract art and not drawing people 🙂

Here it is in my kitchen with pans in it

Image

Now, at some point I should probably deal with the dinged up doors on the inside but this has been amazing and when you have a tiny old kitchen with little storage space it allows me to still be organized with not having to use up my cabinet space for bulky pans and messy lids.. Yay!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Found This Painted That
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 17:44:49

    S smart!

    Reply

Leave a comment